Kaja Kallas no-confidence motion fails

The Riigikogu on Wednesday started by voting on the motion of no confidence against Prime Minister Kaja Kallas (Reform) by the opposition Conservative People’s Party (EKRE) and Isamaa. The motion failed as 36 MPs voted for and 55 against.

EKRE and Isamaa accused the government of incompetence. “Kaja Kallas is not fit to serve as prime minister of Estonia,” Henn Põlluaas (EKRE) said when the motion was being put together.
“The government of the Reform Party and Center Party has under Kaja Kallas and in just a few months gambled away conditions for economic growth and boosting defensive capacity created by the previous government. The administration has made a series of incompetent economic policy decisions that considerably harm Estonian companies, rural development and national security,” the motion read.
EKRE leader Martin Helme said that the government is only tearing down instead of building and reversing what the previous cabinet achieved during its two years in office. “As prime minister, Kaja Kallas is directly responsible for the foolish and irresponsible political choices of the Reform-Center government,” Helme said.

Isamaa Riigikogu group head Helir-Valdor Seeder said that the Kallas administration’s lies and manipulation have harmed Estonia’s security, competitive ability and feelings of safety. “The way the government has gone after national defense, the Defense Forces and Defense League, in what is a tense [international] security situation is unacceptable and dangerous. Whereas the public has been repeatedly and consciously misled,” Seeder said, giving as an example the government’s decision to try and hide €300 million in additional tax revenue during the state budget strategy (RES) deliberations.
Kallas said in her reply that the opposition’s accusations are baseless and that she is convinced the no-confidence motion will not pass.
EKRE and Isamaa MPs gave 30 signatures to support the motion. No-confidence motions need a minimum of 21 signatures to be entered into proceedings.
The undersigned were: Merry Aart, Riho Breivel, Peeter Ernits, Kalle Grünthal, Helle-Moonika Helme, Mart Helme, Martin Helme, Ruuben Kaalep, Uno Kaskpeit, Kert Kingo, Rene Kokk, Leo Kunnas, Alar Laneman, Siim Pohlak, Anti Poolamets, Paul Puustusmaa, Henn Põlluaas, Urmas Reitelmann, Jaak Valge, Heiki Hepner, Aivar Kokk, Tarmo Kruusimäe, Mihhail Lotman, Andres Metsoja, Urmas Rein­salu, Üllar Saaremäe, Helir-Valdor Seeder, Sven Sester, Priit Sibul and Raivo Tamm.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *